Homework / Homework

Creating my Audio File

After practicing in class with the two songs I chose, I felt very comfortable creating my final audio file at home independently. I found Audactiy to be pretty user friendly and after a little playing around, I think I am now comfortable enough to use the program to do my own music editing for my dance classes. I teach a few classes and instead of asking a DJ friend for help, I will now be more inclined to try to work with the music on my own. My first attempt will be to edit the music I will need for tomorrow when I instruct a dance class for 2nd graders in the New Brunswick school district.

I really enjoyed the feeling I got when I finally completed my audio file. To think that I manipulated those two songs to work for my blog is pretty exciting. I feel accomplished knowing that I was able to put my own personal touch on to prior artistic creations and I really look forward to working with and exploring the program on a deeper level in the future.

The only real issue I came across was trying to find out how to upload the mp3 to my blog. With professor Lipkin’s help I was able to copy and past my audio’s file link below! Enjoy & BeHappy!

 

6 thoughts on “Creating my Audio File

  1. WOW, I loved reading your post! It must be very interesting teaching a dance class and it must be a lot of fun for you and for the students as well. The funny thing is that I used to tutor at the New Brunswick Middle School last year and they were very adorable and inclined to learn kids! I really enjoyed my time there…. Well, your podcast was great and I think you did a phenomenal job mixing the two songs together and also including your voice. I believe that your fading out was very good and I am glad you enjoyed using this program. I never used Audacity and I wonder if it as simple as using Garageband. Like you, in the begging I was a little lost but after playing around with it a little bit I got the hand of the program. In addition, the fact that you learned about this program is great because now you can mix your own songs for your dance classes. I think your students will love it!!!! I do not have anything negative to say about your Podcast because you did do all the requirements and the blending in was perfect. But I guess the only thing you can improve on a little bit was just to control the volume of your voice when you spoke. But overall, I am very happy that I was able to see such a great piece of podcast! Good Job!!

  2. Good job on the podcast Erica! I like how you kept it very simple and straight to the point. I’m glad you were able to do the podcast with ease. I on the other hand had some difficulties. When I saw the look of Audacity in class I thought it looked very difficult to use but I’m glad you were able to create your podcast with out any real issues. When it came to uploading the file, the same problem happened with me, I totally forgot about Dropbox and Soundcloud and I was worried that I wouldn’t have been able to upload. I’m glad we resolved that issue though!.

  3. Great job Erica. Really enjoy the retro video game feel that you chose with your opening music. I had similar issues that you described. But using Garage Band made it a lot easier to upload directly to Sound Cloud. Looking forward to your future posts!

  4. Really enjoyed the simplicity and song choices for your podcast. Your volumes were consisted throughout the two songs and your intro so that was great. I really don’t have any critique points other than perhaps the transition/splice from song a. to song b. was a little random and choppy.

  5. As a few other people have said I really liked how simple your audio file was. I am not sure if that is what you were going for but it sounds great! I watched the tutorials as welll just to get comfortable with Garageband but it sounds like Audacity is just as user friendly as Garageband. I am sure youre new audio editing skills will shine when you create your dance mix for the elementary schoolers!

  6. You have a great radio voice and a very cute style. The audio was simple and clean yet there was still an element of flair to it that made it enjoyable and lively. The editing was sound and well-done. And I feel your pain with Audacity’s mp3 exporting problems- I dealt with them all last semester myself, but once you figure it out it’s pretty simple. Anyway, my only suggestion would be to pick songs that have more of a flow or connection so it sounds a bit more natural when you fade in and out.

Leave a comment