Homework

midterm evaluations

I chose to create a health blog on juicing because it is a new part of my life that I am very proud of. I think that I have been able to make healthier decisions and create clean eating habits from this new hobby. I really enjoy sharing my juicing secrets from experiences with my friends, so this blog allows me to create a greater discussion base for one of my favorite topics. I can’t even begin to explain how excited I get when I come in contact with other juicers. This blog will be able to directly connect me to new and experienced juicers which will provide me with a large pool of people to converse with and connect with on our shared interest in the topic. A lot of people know about juicing but are scared to try it because they fear the taste. People are even concerned that it is too expensive and that the benefits are not worth the investment. This blog was inspired by these false ideas placed on juicing. Juicing is delicious and the best part is that you control what you consume. With time experimenting with different recipes, everyone will be able to find a juice that satisfies them and their taste buds. Juicing does not have to be an expensive habit. Juicers are available for prices as cheap as $55 online and you can buy them new or used. If you shop smart, you can make fruit and vegetable purchases that won’t kill your finances. It is important to watch for sales at your supermarkets and keep track of what’s in season so you’re buying fruits that will satisfy you and not go to waste. I really enjoyed sharing some insight into my new hobby and wish I had a video editor so that I could have shared with my viewers how I juice and the process. It is easy and fun so I hope that I inspired some people to try it in the future!

http://wikitravel123.wordpress.com/

This blog was great. The topic was clear and concise and it is definitely one that I would come to regularly for travel guidance and insight. It was easy to follow and navigate and made me truly want to travel to places I have yet to see. The video was exceptionally well done. I would have changed the facts to stay on the screen a little longer because they came and went too quickly for me to read through all of them. I really enjoyed how the blog showed its readers things to do in different locations. This helps travelers cut down a lot of research time on the internet. I think that this blog could have been proof read a little bit better, but it was definitely well thought out and the creator clearly put a lot of time and energy into its creation.

 

http://dressforsuccess2013.wordpress.com/

This blog was very interesting to be because I am an avid shopper and enjoy fashion and accessorizing. I think that this blog did a great job including information on a helpful application for its viewers. I think that the video could have definitely gone a little more in depth and should have ran a little longer, but I got the overall concept and was inclined to download it myself after it ended. I think that this blog was fun and exciting and gave great advice for how to save money and shop cost effectively while still achieving a stylish ensemble. I would recommend changing the heading image to one in a large format size so that it isn’t so fuzzy and distorted. Other than that, I was very impressed with this blog and enjoyed reading it.

 

http://theyanks.wordpress.com/

This blog successfully created a sports related theme from its color choices and font selections. The video was very well done and kept me interested throughout the entire thing. I chose this blog because I find it very difficult to stay on top of all the sports related content on television. This blog would allow me to focus on my favorite baseball team, the Yankees, without having to wait around for other teams to be covered. I think the idea of a focused sports blog on one team really allows for the readers to have control over what they are looking to be informed about. This blog did a great job with its aesthetic details and was very creative (especially when wording the header titles).

http://angelicadangelo24.wordpress.com/

This blog was very fresh and fun. I enjoyed how it was similar to my own theme. I would recommend making the video voice over sound a little higher. It was difficult to hear. The video was easy to follow and extremely cute! I loved how fun and exciting it made the cooking lesson. The instructional layout made it very easy to follow and kept me intrigued throughout the whole lesson. I would definitely use this blog in the future. Instead of searching google and being overwhelmed with recipe ideas, this blog makes it exceptionally easy to learn new recipes that are fun and delicious. I am a huge fan on the health theme.

http://alikatt06.wordpress.com/

I really enjoyed this blog’s take on eating and food. Eating is a part of our culture and I think this video did a great job showing how a blog can be focused on this concept. I think that because this blog takes on a completely different focus than the majority of food and recipe blogs, it makes it far more interesting. The video was one of my favorites and was very well done. I was really happy with the music selection and choices for when to include the voice over. This blog was also very neatly laid out. I enjoyed the theme and overall layout because it was both easy to follow and very pleasing to look at. The colors and pictures enhanced the words used and I was definitely very pleased with my experience when visiting this site.

 

 

5 thoughts on “midterm evaluations

  1. I also included Angelica’s food blog and Jordanna’s travel blog in my top 5 midterm blog list. I disagree with this list for one reason- I hate the Yankees. But hey whatever floats your boat! Haha besides that, this is a solid top 5.

  2. I really enjoyed reading this because not only does it open my eyes to a different view of seeing these blogs (apart from what I thought/saw) it also gave me a good idea on why you developed your midterm blog the way you did. (Numbers 4 and 5 seems to follow your similar patterns of cooking and eating like your juicing blog) I too had the travel and shopping blogs up in my top 5- I suppose the two are quite inevitable to enjoy especially since we are both in our 20’s and are girls. Great job describing your opinions on why they were on your top 5.

  3. I definitely received a better view on the blogs after reading your top-five. You did a great job explaining what you liked but as well as what could have been done better. I thought this was a great thing because it gives us bloggers a better perspective on how to make the blogs better and more lively.

  4. I also choose the same two food blogs that you choose. I think we had the same idea with both of those choices. One was very useful with simple recipes and the other had a very interesting and positive perspective on food. I did not end up choosing the wikitravel one as one of my favorites, but I almost did. I really do like that one as well.

  5. I also chose Kimberly’s blog and I really liked how it was about fashion. Some of the blogs that you chose was something that did not really interest me but just seeing the choices that you picked definitely showed a bit of your personality to me. Pretty cool how when you pick something you can tell just what that person is interested in.

Leave a comment